Showing posts with label rant. Show all posts
Showing posts with label rant. Show all posts

13 January 2012

January 18th – SOPA/PIPA hearing at the House Judiciary Committee

There's a reason why I haven't been blogging as regularly as I should be (shame on me!), but I can tell you it has nothing to do with what I want to talk about today.  

If you know how to use Google, let alone turn on a computer, then you're probably aware that there is a bill that's quickly making its way toward Congress and if it gets passed, then it'll eventually make its way toward President Obama's desk and he'll probably sign it in to law (forgive me if I'm missing a few steps; it's been over 10 years since American Civics class). That bill is called Stop Online Piracy Act (SOPA)/Protect IP Act (PIPA).

SOPA/PIPA is a huge deal and if you don't already know about it, Wiki it before it gets blocked.

"Blocked? That's ridiculous…there's no such thing as censorship here in America; we have the First Amendment (Freedom of Speech) to protect us from that! Ha!"

…if SOPA/PIPA passes, then that is what will happen. And it won't just happen to Wikipedia, but to every single media outlet, blog (gulp), and any random site that happens to have shared content or criticism of any kind, negative or not. Any sites that meet these criteria will automatically be pulled or blocked, whether or not the accusation that the content on that website was indeed taken without permission from the author/creator, or if it just happened to rub someone the wrong way.

09 November 2010

Condescending LA Weekly article re: Call of Duty: Black Ops

Normally I would never, ever read anything the LA Weekly has to say about gaming, but my buddy @slimjimallen, author of the music and sports blog Partial Disclosure, tweeted me the link to this "piece" re: the midnight release event in LA for Call of Duty: Black Ops. Here are a few of my favorite tidbits from this"article":

"While you were sleeping, [the economy] partied with passive-aggressive stoners looking to blow some bitches up with toggles, middle-school Monster guzzlers looking to kill the pain with another epic bloodbath and bored-to-death businessmen looking for -- to be honest -- a reason to live."

"Last month, key "Black Ops" competitor (and neighborhood nuisance) "Medal of Honor" was released to give couch soldiers something to twiddle their thumbs with until the real deal was ready. But "Call of Duty" is like an iPod -- nothing's ever quite as good as the original."

"Inside this time capsule, new-age graphics are dazzling. The game is crisper, louder and far more customizable (think Wartime Barbie) than its predecessors or competitors -- and at a whole new level of frightening, against a backdrop of sporadic missiles and helicopters with minds of their own. Ever heard of a knife-dart or crossbow-rocket? Now you have."

31 January 2009

Another casualty due to the economy...

So now that we're forced to participate in the "Work Share" program at work where they make every one of us take off a day a week without pay, I guess I'll have a bit more time to do stuff at home. Oh, and to upkeep this blog, right? Here's what I think I'll do with my extra day each week:
  • read
  • sleep
  • get fat
  • surf unblocked websites that would otherwise be blocked at work (e.g., Twitter, Myspace, UrbanDictionary.com; funny how TMZ.com still isn't blocked, wouldn't that site be considered 'tasteless'?)
  • play more video games
  • snowboard midweek (if the season gets any better, which I doubt due to global warming, the economy, and Al Gore)
  • take more social networking photos of myself - here, what do you think of this one?

This was last night, where I don't normally look like this. Usually my face isn't so...colorful.

Anyway, since I'm essentially taking a pay cut, that means I have to be a bit more creative when it comes to spending money, meaning, I shouldn't but it happens. Coupons, expired pastries at a discounted price, hitchhiking, tipping 18% instead of 20%, you name it, I'll probably find any way that I can to cut corners just to save money and not change my lifestyle (which isn't too expensive, I don't think).

Happy birthday to me.